The Canadian Academy of Engineering / News Releases

2023 CAE Scholarship Winners Announced

The Canadian Academy of Engineering is pleased to announce the winners of its 2023 national scholarship competitions.

The winner of the 2023 CAE Bruce Aubin SAE Aerospace Design Award is Ms. Emma Belhadfa, an Engineering Science student at the University of Toronto. Ms. Belhadfa is recognized for her demonstrated ability to take on significant challenges in the field of aerospace design and the passion, desire to learn, work ethic and spirit of collaboration that she brings to her work and studies. In addition to a strong academic record, Ms. Belhadfa has also participated in and provided leadership to many extracurricular and community activities.

The winner of the 2023 CAE William G. Belfry SAE Award is Mr. Jake Sprenger, an Electrical Engineering student at the University of Toronto. His is recognized for his exceptional contributions including developing efficient models and innovative components at Williams Advanced Engineering for the Jaguar Formula E team. He also made significant advancements in electrical engineering projects at Johnson & Johnson Medtech, and showcased outstanding skills in hardware abstraction, driver development, and firmware architecture as a Vehicle Software Intern at Tesla. Mr. Sprenger’s achievements highlight his expertise, creativity, and dedication early in his career.

The winner of the 2023 Climate Change/Net Zero Scholarship as part of the CAE Nation Building Scholarship Series is Ms. Michal Davis, an Engineering Science student at the University of Toronto.   She is recognized for her degree of commitment to climate change action through her participation with the Environment and Climate Change Youth Council and with Engineers without borders, as well as for her excellent academic standing.  Michal has a deep understanding of climate change challenges and is preparing herself to help in their resolution.

To view our official press release, click here.

Share this article