

# DRAFT MINUTES ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2018

18 June 2018, 12:30 – 13:45 MDT Calgary Petroleum Club, 319 – 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue S.W., Calgary, AB

#### **FELLOWS IN ATTENDANCE**

Simaan AbouRiszk Hoda ElMaraghy Gerald J. Maier Miguel Anjos Waguih ElMaraghy Audrey Mascarenhas Soheil Asgarpour Peter Englezos Peter Mascher Bruce Aubin Amir Fam Jim (James) Nicell Andrew Pape-Salmon Yves Beauchamp J. Fraser Forbes Nicole Poirier **Bruce Burlton** Stuart Foster Yihong Qi David Chalcroft Kevin Goheen Pavel Cheben Peihua Gu Douglas Ruth Zhangxing Chen Ralph Haas João Soares Dave Collyer Charles Haynes Kim Sturgess, C.M. Lynne Cowe Falls Eddy Isaacs Haijiang Wang Tony Dawe Shaffiq Jaffer Xianbin Wang George P. Fakhreddine Karray Z. Jane Wang Demopoulos Heather Kennedy Helen Wojcinski David Devenny Suzanne Kresta Paul F. Wynnyk Ross Douglas Réal Laporte Zhenghe Xu Duke du Plessis Wei Yu John Leggat Naser El-Sheimv Zheng-Hong Lu Chris Zhang

## 1. OPENING REMARKS

Executive Director K. Goheen welcomed everyone. He introduced President D. Ruth, who would be chairing the meeting.

President D. Ruth opened the meeting at 12:50 by welcoming all Fellows including New Fellows to the 32<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He introduced the head table participants – Kevin Goheen (Executive Director), Eddy Isaacs (Board member and President-Elect) and Yves Beauchamp (Board member and Treasurer). Past-President P. Lortie was unable to attend.

#### 2. RECOGNITION OF DECEASED FELLOWS

President D. Ruth asked the assembly to stand for a few moments while he recognized Fellows who we are aware have passed away since our last AGM:

- Alan R. Holt (2016)
- Les Wardrop (2017)
- Jack Mollard (2017)
- Edmund Kuffel (2018)
- Alex Taylor (2018)

#### 3. QUORUM DETERMINATION

President D. Ruth noted that our By-Laws require a minimum of 20 members or 20% of the active membership (whichever is less) to constitute a quorum. He observed that there were clearly more than 20 Active Fellows present, and hence declared a quorum. He reminded attendees that, while Emeritus and Honorary Fellows are welcome to participate fully in the discussion and to address the meeting, they are **NOT** eligible to cast a formal vote, or to propose or second motions. He requested participants to identify themselves, when making motions or addressing the meeting, to ensure that we have an accurate record of the meeting.

#### 4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President D. Ruth invited any additions or modifications to the agenda distributed. There being none, it was moved by H. ElMaraghy, seconded by A. Meisen, that the Agenda be approved. **CARRIED.** 

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES – AGM 2017

The President invited identification of any errors or omissions by those in attendance. It was moved by J. Leggat, seconded by B. Burlton, that the minutes for the 2017 AGM be approved. **CARRIED**.

#### REPORT OF PRESIDENT – 2017/2018

D. Ruth delivered his report on the Academy's activities over the past year. It is attached.

## 7. FINANCIAL

#### □ Audit Report 2017

The Secretary/Treasurer, Y. Beauchamp presented the auditor's 2017 financial statement for the CAE.

# □ Treasurer's Report / Budget 2018

Y. Beauchamp presented a detailed analysis of F2017 and the Board-approved budget for F2018.

# □ Appointment of Auditors 2018

The Finance and Audit Committee has recommended the firm of Nephin Winter Bingley Chartered Professional Accountants to the Board, to act as auditors to the CAE. The recommendation of the Board is that we appoint them for the year 2018.

It was moved by Y. Beauchamp, seconded by D. Ruth, that Nephin Winter Bingley Charter Professional Accountants be appointed as CAE auditors for 2018. **CARRIED.** 

#### 8. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS – 2018/2019

President D. Ruth noted that the Nominating Committee had provided a recommended slate of proposals for 2018/2019, and that these had been endorsed by the Board of Directors.

Relative to Officers and Directors-at-Large, the following names had been proposed:

## For Officers:

President: Eddy Isaacs
President-Elect: Yves Beauchamp
Secretary-Treasurer: Bruce Burlton
Past President: Douglas Ruth

## For Directors-at-Large:

Continuing: Jeannette Montufar

Continuing: Peter Frise
Continuing: Peter Mascher
Continuing: Kimberly Keating

Continuing: Tony Dawe
New: Nicole Poirier
New: William Rosehart

There being no alternative nominations from the floor, it was moved by I. Puri, seconded by H. ElMaraghy, that this slate of officers and directors be approved. **CARRIED.** 

Relative to membership of the Fellowship Committee the following proposal had been received:

# For Fellowship Committee:

Chair (New): Ron Crotogino

President
President-Elect

Members-at-Large:

Continuing: Ray Gosine
Continuing: Andrew Hrymak
Continuing: Soheil Asgarpour
New: Samantha Espley

# For Council of Canadian Academies Board of Governors

Continuing: Douglas Ruth New: Eddy Isaacs

There being no alternative nominations from the floor, it was moved by M. Anjos, seconded by P. Mascher, that this slate of members for the Fellowship Committee be approved. **CARRIED.** 

It was noted for information purposes only that the following people have been appointed to the Council of Canadian Academies Board of Governors.

Continuing: Douglas Ruth New: Eddy Isaacs

#### 9. REPORT OF PRESIDENT-ELECT – 2017/2018

Newly-elected President Eddy Isaacs delivered his report on his vision for Academy's activities in the near future. It is attached.

#### 10. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ARRANGEMENTS – 2019

Newly elected President Eddy Isaacs announced Québec City, Québec as the location of the next Annual Meeting in June 2019. The Board will announce the theme and date at a later time.

## 11. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no additional business.

## 12. ADJOURNMENT

D. Ruth thanked the Fellows for attending the AGM and declared a CONSENSUS for adjournment at 13:47.

# INDUCTION OF NEW FELLOWS 2018 (Added for the record)

The Induction of New Fellows took place before dinner at the Calgary Petroleum Club. This year, 38 of the 59 newly-elected Fellows were able to be present at the Induction Ceremony. B. Burlton and Y. Beauchamp read the citations as each inductee came forward, received their framed certificate from E. Isaacs and had a photograph taken, and then signed the members' register and received a CAE pin. Those present were:

Samuel Ariaratnam Jill Green Michael Pley Bruce Aubin Charles Haynes Yihong Qi Pavel Cheben Shaffiq Jaffer Joy Romero Dave Collyer Farrokh Janabi-Sharifi **David Ross** George Demopoulos Fakhreddine Karray Susan Tighe Naser El-Sheimy Ali Khademhosseini Xianbin Wang Amir Fam Suzanne Kresta Haijiang Wang John Fraser Forbes Réal Laporte Zhen (Jane) Wang Joseph Liburdi Helen Wojcinski F. (Stuart) Foster Diane Freeman Zheng-Hong Lu Paul Wynnyk Zaki Ghavitian Wayne J. Maddever Siyu Ye John T.W. Yeow Marilyn GladuM.P. **Audrey Mascarenhas** James (Jim) Nicell Derrick Green

21 other Fellows have been formally accepted for the year 2018 and will receive their lapel pins and certificates at future Annual Meetings. They are:

Annette Bergeron Ray LaPierre Catherine Booth David Lapp Sean Donnelly Yan Fei Liu James Estill Ian MacGregor Louise Grondin M.G. Venkatesh Mannar Josephine Hill Angela Pappin Richard Holt Harry E. Ruda Mary A. Wells Kenneth Robert Johnson Frank Robert Kschischang Jun Yang Catherine Lacavera

#### **New International Fellows**

Chunli Bai

Gururaj Deshpande