

2022 CAE Scholarship Winners Announced Ottawa – June 24, 2022

The Canadian Academy of Engineering is pleased to announce the winners of its 2022 national scholarship competitions.



The winner of the **2022 CAE Bruce Aubin SAE Aerospace Design Award** is Ms. Yona Raghoobar, a Mechanical Engineering student at École de Technologie Supérieure. She is recognized for her leadership and technical capabilities demonstrated during her internship at Bombardier Aerospace where she worked on fuselage structures for the Global 7500 aircraft.



The winner of the **2022 CAE William G. Belfry SAE Award** is Mr. Tristan Gosset, an Operations and Logistics Engineering student at École de technologie supérieure. He is recognized for contributions to the digital transformation of a number of small companies over the course of work terms. He has won multiple leadership roles and served as Captain of the Formula SAE team at ÉTS as they moved from a combustion vehicle to electric.



The winner of the **2022 Climate Change/Net Zero Scholarship** as part of the CAE Nation Building Scholarship Series is Mr. Yazan Zamel, a student enrolled in Engineering Science, Energy Systems and Environmental Engineering at the University of Toronto. He is recognized for his work on building renewable energy sources and CO2 conversion. Yazan had previously been involved in the Future sustainability Leaders Program (FSL) and worked on carbon capture and storage (CCS) projects.



The winner of the **2022 Northern Infrastructure Scholarship** as part of the CAE Nation Building Scholarship Series is Ms. Valentina Alvarez Maldonado, a Construction Engineering student at École de technologie supérieur. She is recognized for her ideas for improving and constructing northern infrastructure informed by her time living in Nunavut.

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) partnered with the SAE Foundation Canada and the Aubin and Belfry families in 2017 to offer an undergraduate scholarship in transportation and mobility engineering, and an award for university students' outstanding aerospace design. The CAE Bruce Aubin SAE Aerospace Design Award is valued at \$2000, and the CAE William G. Belfry Memorial SAE Scholarships is \$2000.

Starting in 2022 the CAE added two Nation-building Scholarships. The Nation Building Scholarships Series has been established by the Canadian Academy of Engineering in recognition of the important role played by engineers in the building of our nation given the social and technical challenges created by the geographical extent of the country, its low population density and its northern climate. The *Climate Change/Net Zero Scholarship* is valued at \$2000, and the *Northern Infrastructure Scholarship* is valued at \$2000.

The awards and scholarships are given annually to top engineering students from across Canada. Information about the scholarships can be found at: https://www.cae-acg.ca/projects/scholarships/.

Media Inquiries:

Robert Crawhall, PhD, FCAE, P.Eng, PMP, ICD.D Executive Director

Tel: (613) 235-9056

E-mail: robert.crawhall@cae-acg.ca