Annual Meeting – 27 June 2016 – Winnipeg MB

Canadian Museum for Human Rights - Photo Courtesy of CMHR

Canadian Museum for Human Rights – Photo Courtesy of CMHR


Report on the 30th Annual General Meeting of the CAE

The CAE held its Annual Meeting on 27 June 2016 in Winnipeg. This marked the first time that the Annual Meeting has been held in Manitoba. After a number of years holding the event over two days, we returned to a one day meeting. The business meeting was held at the Fort Garry Hotel and the Induction Dinner at the new Canadian Museum of Human Rights.

Following a Board meeting, the first order of business was the annual business meeting. The agenda and supporting material is available in the restricted member area. After declaring the meeting open, the 28 members present observed a moment of silence for the Fellows who passed away in the previous year, M. Bernard Lemarre and H. William Pearson. President-Elect Douglas Ruth FCAE described the activities of the Academy over the past year and Secretary-Treasurer Yves Beauchamp FCAE presented the financial results and the budget for 2016. Frouin Group was chosen as the Auditor for F2016. The new slate of Directors and Fellowship Committee members were elected. Fellows Richard Marceau FCAE, Ken Putt FCAE and Eugene Polistuk FCAE are leaving the Board after this meeting and were thanked for their contribution.

The technical portion of the meeting consisted of presentations around the Trottier Energy Futures Project, a five-year effort that the CAE completed in April 2016. On behalf of the Chair of the TEFP Project Management Board, John Leggat, FCAE, Kevin Goheen, CAE Executive Director, gave an overview of the project and its results Technical Presentation 1. Kathleen Vaillancourt, ESMIA Consultants Inc., described details of the mathematical models that were used Technical Presentation 2 and Eddy Isaacs, FCAE, provided a description of the problems associated with fugitive emissions, and looked at the future of the oil and gas sector in a low carbon future Technical Presentation 3. A lively discussion ensued.

The final event of the day was the Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony. This year, we were pleased that 33 out of the 43 newly elected Fellows could be present. Greetings before the ceremony were presented by Jonathan Beddoes FCAE on behalf of the University of Manitoba, Digvir Jayas FCAE on behalf of Engineers Canada and Eric Meslin, FCAHS from the Council of Canadian Academies. Our keynote speaker was Randy Hermann, Director of the University of Manitoba’s Engineering Access Program (ENGAP) who provided a thought provoking description of the issues that his program has successfully begun to overcome. Keynote Presentation

We wish to express our appreciation to firstly, the organizing committee, Doug Ruth and Don Whitmore FCAE, secondly to our financial sponsors, Queen’s University, University of Toronto, University of Ottawa, Council of Canadian Academies, McMaster University, Friends of Engineering (Manitoba), University of British Columbia, University of Manitoba and finally, to Ms. Chris Cowan of the University of Manitoba who helped Roxanne Lepage and me through a very busy day.

As we have done for the past four years, instead of speaker’s gifts, we made a donation to the Canadian Engineering Memorial Foundation so that they could continue to offer scholarships to young women pursuing engineering educations.

In recognition of Canada’s 150th anniversary, Ottawa has been tentatively chosen as the location of the 2017 annual meeting. Definitive news of location and timing will be made soon.

Kevin Goheen
Executive Director

Canadian Academy of Engineering 2016 Annual General Meeting, Winnipeg MB

To obtain high resolution images please send your request to Roxanne Lepage at


Canadian Academy of Engineering – Symposium – Trottier Energy Futures Project

To obtain high resolution images please send your request to Roxanne Lepage at

Dinner and Induction Ceremony

To obtain high resolution images please send your request to Roxanne Lepage at

ProgramMonday June 27 2016
9:30 a.m.
Fort Garry Hotel
Board of Directors Meeting & Teleconference
12 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. Fort Garry HotelBuffet Lunch
12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Fort Garry Hotel
Annual General Meeting
CAE Fellows only
1:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Fort Garry Hotel
Topic: Trottier Energy Futures Project
Kevin Goheen, Overview, TEFP
Kathleen Vaillancourt, ESMIA, Modelling for TEFP
Eddy Issacs, FCAE, Fugitive Emissions and the future of oil and gas
TBD, The Council of Canadian Academies, Energy Systems Modelling
Warren Maybee, Queen’s University, The future of biofuels (TBC)
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Canadian Museum for Human Rights
Induction of New Fellows Reception & Ceremony
7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Canadian Museum for Human Rights
Dinner & Speaker
Mr. Randy Herrmann
Engineering Access Program
Faculty of Engineering
University of Manitoba

Message from the Annual Meeting Chair

Dr. D. Ruth - Associate Dean (Design Education)

Douglas W. Ruth

In June, the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Academy of Engineering will be held in Winnipeg, Manitoba.  With the induction of 43 new Fellows and a timely program related to the Trottier Energy Futures Report, the meeting will be of interest to all our members.  The venue for the induction dinner will be the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, a truly world class facility.  See you in Winnipeg!

Keynote Speaker

RandyPortrait1Randy Herrmann, P. Eng., has been the Director of the Engineering Access Program (ENGAP) for the past 18 years. He graduated from the University of Manitoba in 1988 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Geological Engineering. For a number of years he worked in consulting engineering and project management in southern Ontario before he returned home to Manitoba to become the Director of ENGAP. He is a member of Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba and a Fellow of Engineers Canada.

Throughout his life as a person of Metis heritage, and his work with Indigenous communities he realized the lack of engineers of Indigenous ancestry and the obstacles faced by many native students to attend University. His desire to help change these factors led him to his current position in ENGAP.


Platinum Sponsors



Gold Sponsors

FASE UT Signature CMYK PMS 655 PCMcMaster

Silver Sponsors

FGFE_HOR_COLOURunit signatures TEMPLATE - 2 lines



UM logo col horz-Fac Engineering right