The Canadian Academy of Engineering / What’s New

CAE News for the week of 24 June

On a weekly basis, the CAE compiles news of interest to the organization and its members, and makes it publicly available on our website. The CAE works to highlight emerging issues in which engineering has a role as well as promote recognition of engineering excellence and innovation.

Happy Canada Day from CAE

From everyone at CAE, we wish you a happy and safe Canada Day!

Guelph honours women in STEM with downtown banners

New banners on some downtown Guelph streetlights are honouring the work of women in STEM fields: science, technology, engineering and math. The Downtown Guelph Business Association says the project was inspired by Donna Strickland, FCAE, the University of Waterloo professor who was one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2018.

For more information, click here.

Physicist Wang wins Einstein World Award of Science

The Albert Einstein World Award of Science announced its winner, Zhong Lin Wang, FCAE. The chair and regents professor of the School of Materials Science and Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Zhong Lin Wang has become the first Chinese-American scientist to win this award. Wang was awarded for his “pioneering and seminal contributions to the discovery, innovation and implementation of nanogenerators and self-powered systems,” said the World Cultural Council (WCC), the organization that gives out the award.

For more information, click here.

Ottawa tasks trailblazing female officer to lead extended training mission in Iraq

Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan announced Brig.-Gen. Jennie Carignan, FCAE, will be promoted to major-general and take over the command of the NATO training mission in Iraq until November 2020. Congrats Brig.-Gen. Jennie Carignan!

For more information, click here.

G.H. Duggan Medal of the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME)

Congratulations to Daolun Chen, FCAE, who was recently presented with the 2019 G.H. Duggan Medal. “The G.H. Duggan Medal was established in 1935 to honour Dr. G.H. Duggan who was president of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) in 1916. It is awarded annually for the best paper dealing with the use of advanced materials for structural or mechanical purposes. (revised 1983).”

For more information, click here.

Fellows named to the Order of Canada

We are pleased to report that two of our Fellows have been mentioned in the most recent honours list:

Elizabeth Cannon, O.C., Calgary, Alberta

For her remarkable contributions to science, technology and academia in Canada, notably as an engineer and university administrator.

Lotfollah Shafai, O.C., Winnipeg, Manitoba

For his fundamental contributions to the fields of electromagnetics and antenna and satellite development, which have led to renowned advancements in the telecommunications industry.

To see the full list, click here.

2019 National Order of Quebec Recipients

Congratulations to Pierre Lassonde, FCAE, who was promoted to Grands officiers in the National Order of Quebec.

See the full list of recipients here.

CAE Annual General Meeting 2019

On 21 June, CAE held its Annual General Meeting, Technical Symposium and Induction of new Fellows in Quebec City. The Focus of the Technical Symposium was Entrepreneurship in Optics-Photonics. Delegates heard from professionals and entrepreneurs in the Optical and Photonic Ecosystem including:

  • Marie-Christine Ferland, Optonique
  • Jean Fortin, Defense Research and Development Canada (RDDC – Valcartier)
  • Alain Chandonnet, National Optics Institute (INOQuébec)
  • Réal Vallée, Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL – Université Laval)
  • Patrick Sauvageau, President and CEO, Zilia Health
  • Xavier Godmaire, Laserax
  • Jean Giroux, Telops
  • Bruno Schmidt, Few-Cycle Inc.
  • Eric Bergeron, FlyScan Systems Inc
  • Maripier Tremblay, Université Laval
  • Sophie Veilleux, Université Laval

We want to thank our moderators for the Technical Symposium: André Zacarrin, Université Laval and Maripier Tremblay, Université Laval.

Fifty-four Fellows and one Honorary Fellow were inducted during the Induction dinner that evening. You can find the full list of 2019 Fellow inductees here.

Guests heard from Sophie D’Amours, FCAE, of Université Laval and received the Keynote address from Germain Lamonde, FCAE, of EXFO.

André Bazergui, FCAE, was presented with the Leopold Nadeau Memorial Award from CAE President Eddy Isaacs. This award is presented to acknowledge and celebrate truly extraordinary efforts made by a Fellow to further the objective of the Academy.

Several external news releases have been prepared on behalf of our new Fellow inductees. We would be happy to share any others we may not have received. Please forward to

Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta

Carleton University

Concordia University

McMaster University

Queen’s University

Simon Fraser University

The University of Texas at Austin

University of Manitoba

University of Saskatchewan

University of Toronto

University of Waterloo

University of Windsor

Western University

Thank you to our 2019 CAE Annual General Meeting Sponsors!


Council of Canadian Academies

McGill University

McMaster University


Polytechnique Montréal

Queen’s University

Schulich School of Engineering – University of Calgary

Univeristé Laval

University of British Columbia

University of Toronto

University of Waterloo


University of Alberta

Have a story you would like to have featured?  Please contact us at

Follow the CAE on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Share this article