The Léopold Nadeau Memorial Award for Distinguished Service

awards1_2Established in 2008 to commemorate the exceptional contributions of the late Dr. Léopold M. Nadeau, FCAE to the conception and founding of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and his 10 years of exemplary service as its first Executive Director. This award is presented to acknowledge and celebrate truly extraordinary efforts made by a Fellow to further the objective of the Academy.


Award Recipients

2018 – Dr. John Leggat “ for long and outstanding commitment to the Academy, including six years on the board and a term as President, major contributions to the International Council of Engineering and Technological Sciences, and the exceptional leadership exhibited bringing the Trottier Energy Futures Project to a successful conclusion.”

2012 – Dr. E. Philip Cockshutt “for enhancing the credibility and sense of purpose of the Academy in the early years of the CAE through his institutional memory, political/professional instincts, quiet wisdom and distinguished manner”

2008 – Dr. Morrel P. Bachynski “for dedicated and outstanding services to the Canadian Academy of Engineering in developing the concept of a 5-year strategic plan for the advancement of the Academy and stimulating the involvement of members to implement the plan”

2007 – Dr. Clement W. Bowman “for outstanding leadership of the Energy Pathways Task Force” (then known as the CAE Distinguished Service Award)